Friday, April 25, 2008

I just finished a great book...

Dr. Gary Chapman does a great job of describing what he calls the "Five Love Languages."

The languages are:
  • - Quality Time
  • - Words of Affirmation
  • - Giving of Gifts
  • - Acts of Service
  • - Physical Touch

    He explains that each person speaks one of these languages and gives love in this area. This is also the language in which they most desire to recieve love.

    Are you and your spouse speaking the same language? While love is a many-splendored thing, it is sometimes a very confusing thing, too. And as people come in all varieties, shapes, and sizes, so do their choices of personal expressions of love. More often than not, the giver and the receiver each express love in different ways. That can lead to misunderstanding, quarrels, and even divorce.

    Dr. Chapman identifies these five basic love languages and then guides couples toward a better understanding of how each of them uses these love languages.

    Dr. Chapman claims that if you learn to speak and understand your spouse's love language, in no time you will be able to effectively love and truly feel loved in return.

    The Beautiful Mrs. Jasper and I have since taken the test and discovered our individual love languages. I see great things in our future... now that I somewhat understand what she wants/needs. :o) The book is a huge help with knowing what specific areas you can show your spouse love that will greatly impact your relationship.

    Read this book! Skillful communication is within your grasp!
  • No comments:

    Post a Comment